''Unauthorised'' constructions at bungalows of Advani, Sushma

Posted By: Pti
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Feb 4 (PTI) Senior BJP leaders L K Advani,Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj and Nitin Gadkari and MPs RamVilas Paswan, Lalu Prasad, Amar Singh as also former ministerArjun Singh are among those who have allegedly carried outunauthorised construction in the bungalows allotted to them inthe Lutyen''s zone.

The details of 182 present and former members ofParliament who have carried out such construction has beenmade public by Central Public Works Department in an RTIreply.

The reply also lists the names of BJP MPs Ram Jethmalaniand Kalraj Mishra, RLD President Ajit Singh, JD(U)Chief SharadYadav, Congress leader Ahmed Patel, Rajiv Shukla, MohdAzharuddin and U P Chief Minister Mayawati.

The others figuring the list are Karan Singh, MVenkaiah Naidu, Kirti Azad, Jaya Prada, Suresh Kalmadi besidesRavishankar Prasad, Yashwant Sinha, Raj Babbar and SureshKalmadi.

The state and national headquarters of BJP and BSP havealso been listed as properties where unauthorised constructionhas been carried out, the reply states.

The nature of construction by leaders ranges fromadditional rooms, halls, badminton courts, toilets, offices,veranda, platforms, fibre sheet sheds and steel structures,among others, it said.

The CPWD said notices were issued to parliamentariansmentioned in the list and they were asked to remove theconstruction but it does not mention whether such noticeswere complied with by them.

On the removal of such unauthorised constructions, theCPWD said,"No FIRs were filed...It has been decided that theunauthorised construction shall be removed at the time ofchange of occupancy.

"At the time of vacation if any deficiency is found inthe items issued to occupant, amount is recovered or thedeficiency report is sent to concerned branch in Lok Sabhasecretariat, Rajya Sabha secretariat/Director of Estate," hesaid.

Please Wait while comments are loading...