Infosys Prize 2010 goes to six scientists

Posted By: Samyuktha
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Bangalore, Oct 25: Noting the importance of scientific research for the progress of a country, Indian IT behemoth, Infosys on Monday, Oct 25 announced the six winners of the Infosys Prize 2010.

The Infosys Science Foundation announced winners across five categories mathematical sciences, physical sciences, engineering and computer science, life sciences and social sciences.

The winners are:

  1. Chandrashekhar Khare of California University mathematics department (Mathematical Science)
  2. Nandini Sundar of Delhi School of Economics (Social Anthropology)
  3. Sandip Trivedi of the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (Physical Sciences)
  4. Ashutosh Sharma of the Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur (Engineering and Computer Science)
  5. Amita Baviskar of the Institute of Economic Growth, Delhi (Sociology)
  6. Chetan E Chitnis of the International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology (ICGEB), Delhi (Life Sciences)

"Scientific research is the key to sustaining India's growth, and it is critical for India to ensure that research remains an attractive profession for the nation's finest minds," said Infosys chairman and chief mentor NR Narayana Murthy.

Mr Murthy is also among the trustees of the Infosys Science Foundation, besides K Dinesh and S Gopalakrishnan. The trustee trio announced the winners at a press conference here on Monday, Oct 25.

The winners will receive a cash prize of Rs 50 lakh (Rs 5 million), a citation certificate and a gold medallion. Prime Minister Manmohan Singh is slated to present the awards to the winners on Jan 6, 2011 in Mumbai.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...