Aamir Khan resigns from Copyright Act committee

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Feb 17 (ANI): Bollywood actor Aamir Khan has resigned from the ten-member committee formed by the Centre to look into proposed amendments to the Copyright Act.

In a letter to Union Human Resource Development (HRD) Minister Kapil Sibal, Aamir said, "It seems to me that there is an attempt by certain people to attack me in public by printing lies about me, thereby turning the attention away from a genuine debate about copyright issues."

There are media reports that at a recent meeting between producers and writers over the issue of royalties, Aamir tried to take credit from lyricists by saying that a song's popularity depended on the star on whom it was picturised.

Aamir's remarks annoyed lyricist Javed Akhtar, who said the popular song 'Papa Kehte Hain' became a hit despite Aamir not being a star at that time.

Aamir said, he was not comfortable hearing such allegations.

"I am grateful to you for inviting me to be a part of a committee to discuss the various issues regarding amendments to the Copyright Act. However, in the light of these public attacks on me, I don't think I am comfortable to be part of this committee," Aamir said in his letter to Sibal.

"I take great pride in my honesty and integrity, and attach an enormous amount of value to my sense of justice and fair play. Monetary achievements have never excited me," claimed Aamir adding "I would have acted in many more than one film a year, thereby being financially much richer."

"Had I been driven by monetary achievements, I would not have produced films that challenge the mainstream and break new ground, films like 'Lagaan', 'Taare Zameen Par' and 'Peepli Live', that most producers would hesitate to produce," said Aamir.

Aamir further wrote to Sibal, "I believe that amendments to the Copyright Act are long overdue and I am so happy that a person like you is spearheading this movement."

"I believe that the changes that you are bringing about in the sphere of education are so dynamic, progressive and positive, that I have absolutely no doubt in my mind that you will do the same in the field of copyright," said Aamir.

The Copyright Act panel also includes Javed Akhtar, Boney Kapoor, Mukesh Bhatt, Vishal Bharadwaj, Vishal Dadlani, Prasoon Joshi, Anjum Rajabli, Madhu Manthena and Bhushan Kumar. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...