Govt to derecognize 44 deemed universities

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Jan 19: The center on Monday, Jan 18, informed the Supreme Court of its decision to derecognise 44 deemed university across the country.

In the affidavit filed in the Supreme Court, the Human Resource Development ministry cited irregualties in giving the 'deemed' tags to these institutions during the time of HRD minister Arjun Singh under the first UPA government.

Human Resource and Development ministry added that the government has approved the recommendations made by the high-powered P N Tandon committee and the Special Task Force, which set up to suggest measures to tackle the problem.

"The Review Committee came across several aberrations in the functioning of some of the institutions deemed to be universities. It found undesirable management architecture where families rather than professional academics controlled the functioning of institutions," the affidavit said.

The Center's study which includes 126 deemed universities across the country found 44 universities completely unfit to be conferred with the deemed tag.

44 other universities will given time to improve themesleves, while the remaining 38 was found to be doing well.

6 universities in Karnataka is on the unfit list. Tamil Nadu has 16 universities out of the 44 derecognize list. Uttar Pradesh has four, Haryana, Uttarakhand, Rajasthan and Maharashtra has three each and one each in Gujarat, Orissa, Andhra Pradesh, Delhi, Bihar.

In a recent statement, HRD minister Kapil Sibal, questioned the functioning of these universities.

Sibal said that some of these universities do not fulfill the eligibility criteria and were found to be lacking in basic infrastructure like university campus and teaching staff.

The affidavit by the center,  came after the Supreme Court's directives to act on a PIL, seeking action against deemed universities which flout academic standards and norms and function solely on commercial purpose.

The list of universities which will be derecognized are as follows:

1. Christ College, Bangalore

2. Vignan's Foundation for Science, Technology and Research, Guntur, Andhra Pradesh

3. Lingaya's University, Faridabad

4. St Peter's Institute of Higher Education and Research, Chennai

5. Noorul Islam Centre for Higher Education, Kanyakumari

6. Jaypee Institute of Information Technology, Noida

7.Shobhit Institute of Engineering and Technology, Meerut

8. Sumandeep Vidyapeet, Vadodara, Gujarat

9. Sri Devraj Urs Academy of Higher Education and Reserch, Kolar, Karnataka

10. Yenepoya University, Mangalore

11. BLDE University, Bijapur, Karnataka

12.Krishna Institute of Medical Sciences, Satara, Maharashtra

13.D Y Patil Medical College, Kolhapur, Maharashtra

14. Meenakshi Academy of Higher Education and Research, Chennai

15. Chettinad Academy of Research and Education, Kanchipuram

16. HIHT University, Dehradun

17. Santosh University, Ghaziabad

18. Maharshi Markandeshwar University, Ambala, Haryana

19. Manav Rachna International University, Faridabad

20. Sri Siddhartha Academy of Higher Education, Tumkur, Karnataka

21. Jain University, Bangalore

22. Tilak Maharashtra Vidyapeeth, Pune

23. Siksha "O" Anusandha, Bhubaneswar

24. Janardan Rai Nagar, Udaipur, Rajasthan

25. Institute of Advanced Studies in Education of Gandhi Vidya Mandir, Sardarshahr, Rajasthan

26. Mody Institute of Technology, Sikar, Rajasthan

27. Dr MGR Educational and Research Institute, Chennai

28. Saveetha Institute of Medical and Technical Sciences, Chennai

29. Kalasalingam Academy of Research and Education, Virdhunagar, Tamil Nadu

30. Periryar Maniammai Institute of Science and Technology, Thanjavur

31. Academy of Maritime Education and Training, Chennai

32. Vel's Institute of Science, Technology and Advanced Studies, Chennai

33. Karpagam Academy of Higher Education, Coimbatore

34. Vel Tech Rangaraja Dr Sagunthal R&D Institute of Science, Chennai

35. Gurukul Kangri, Haridwar

36. Grapich Era University, Dehradun

37. Nehru Gram Bharati Vishwavidyalaya, Allahabad

38. Sri Balaji Vidyapeeth, Puducherry

39. Vinayaka Mission's Research Foundation, Salem, Tamil Nadu

40.Bharath Institute of Higher Education And Research, Chennai

41. Ponnaiya Ramajayam Institute of Science and Technology, Thanjavur, Tamil Nadu

42. Nava Nalanda Mahavira, Nalanda, Bihar

43. Rajiv Gandhi National Institute of Youth Development, Sriperumbudur, Tamil Nadu

44. National Museum, Institute of the History of Art Conservation and Musicology, Janpath, New     Delhi.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...