Telangana issue: 11 Congress Andhra MPs resign from Lok Sabha

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Dec 24 (ANI): The Centre's delay in its decision to initiate the process for the formation of the Telangana State has stirred up a hornet's nest, with eleven Congress MPs belonging to the Telangana region resigned from the Lok Sabha on Thursday in protest over the issue.

It is still not clear what step Union Minister S Jaipal Reddy will take, as he is also an MP from the Telangana region.

Union Home Minister P Chidambaram had made a brief statement on Wednesday night saying wide ranging consultations would be held to come out with a final solution on Telangana.

Displeased over Chidambaram's statements, the eleven MPs met at the Andhra Bhavan to decide upon their strategy. Chidambaram had earlier on December 9 assured the people belonging to the Telangana region that talks are on for the formation of the Telangana state.

One of the MPs Madhu Yashki said they had still not decided whether to tender their resignations to Congress President Sonia Gandhi or Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar.

The MPs have also planned to meet Jaipal Reddy and seek his opinion on the matter. Reddy being a Union Minister, they are banking upon him to take a firm decision on the Telangana issue. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...