Cabinet approves constitution of 19th Law Commission

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Oct 22 (ANI): The Union Cabinet today approved the constitution of 19th Law Commission for a period of three years with effect from September 1, 2009, to 31st August, 2012.

The Law Commission is headed by a Chairman and consists of three full time Members, Member Secretary and three or more part time Members depending on the nature of Topics referred to the Commission for study.

The Law Commission of India is a non-statutory body constituted by the Government from time to time.

The Commission was originally constituted in 1955 and is re-constituted after every three years. The tenure of last Law Commission (18th) ended on 31st August, 2009.

The various Law Commissions have been able to make important contribution towards the progressive development and codification of Laws of the country.

The Law Commission has so far submitted 234 reports out of which 225 reports have been laid before Parliament.

The Law Commission is located at New Delhi. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...