• search

List of the 78-member council of ministers

Written by: Staff

New Delhi, May 27: After days of bickering among the Congress leaders over Cabinet berths, Manmohan Singh on Wednesday, May 27 announced 78-member council of members. The 78-member council includes 33 cabinet ministers and 45 ministers of state. 14 cabinet minister will take oath on Thursday, May 28 along with 45 ministers of state, seven of whom will hold independent charge.

Cabinet Ministers:

* Virbhadra Singh (Congress & Former CM of Himachal Pradesh)

* Vilasrao Deshmukh (Congress & Former CM of Maharastra)

* Farooq Abdullah (National Conference & Former Cm of Jammu Kashmir)

* Dayanidhi Maran (DMK)

* M K Azhagari (DMK)

* A Raja (DMK)

* Mallikarjun Kharge (Congress)

* Kumari Selja (Congress)

* Subodh Kant Sahay (Congress)

* M S Gill (Congress)

* G K Vasan (Congress)

Ministers of State with Independent charge:

* Praful Patel (NCP)

* Prithviraj Chavan (Congress)

* Sriprakash Jaiswal (Congress)

* Salman Khurshid (Congress)

* Jairam Ramesh (Congress)

* Krishna Tirath (Congress)

* Dinsha Patel (Congress)

* Pawan Kumar Bansal (Congress)

* Mukul Wasnik (Congress)

* Kantilal Bhuria (Congress)

Ministers of States:

* E Ahmed (Muslim League)

* V Narayanasamy(Congress)

* Srikant Jena (Congress)

* Mullappally Ramachandran (Congress)

* D Purandeswari (Congress)

* Panabaka Lakshmi (Congress)

* Ajay Maken (Congress)

* K H Muniyappa (Congress)

* Namo Narain Meena (Congress)

* Jyotiraditya Scindia (Congress )

* Jitin Prasad (Congress)

* A Sai Prathap (Congress)

* Gurudas Kamat (Congress)

* M M Pallam Raju (Congress)

* Mahadev Khandela (Congress)

* Harish Rawat (Congress)

* K V Thomas (Congress)

* Saugata Ray (Trinamool Congress)

* Dinesh Trivedi (Trinamool Congress)

* Sisir Adhikari (Trinamool Congress)

* Sultan Ahmed (trinamool Congress)

* Mukul Roy (Trinamool Congress)

* Mohan Jatua (Trinamool Congress)

* S S Palanimanickam (DMK)

* D Napoleon (DMK)

* S Jagathrakshakan(DMK)

* S Gandhiselvan (DMK)

* Preneet Kaur (Congress)

* Sachin Pilot (Congress)

* Shashi Tharoor (Congress)

* Bharatsinh Solanki (Congress)

* Tusharbhai Chaudhary (Congress)

* Arun Yadav (Congress)

* Prateek Prakashbapu Patil (Congress)

* R P N Singh (Congress)

* Vincent Pala (Congress)

* Pradeep Jain (Congress)

* Agatha Sangma (NCP)

19 ministers sworn-in on May 22

Pranab Mukherjee (Congress)

AK Antony (Congress)

P Chidambaram (Congress)

Sharad Pawar (NCP)

Ghulam Nabi Azad (Congress)

Shushil Kumar Shinde (Congress)

Jaipal Reddy (Congress)

Kamal Nath (Congress)

Vayalar Ravi (Congress)

Meera Kumar (Congress)

Murali Deora (Congress)

Kapil Sibal (Congress)

Ambika Soni (Congress)

BK Handique (Congress)

Anand Sharma (Congress)

Mamata Banerjee (Trinamool Congress)

SM Krishna(Congress)

CP Joshi (Congress)

Veerappa Moily (Congress)

Members who did not make it:

* HR Bhardwaj (Congress)

* Shivraj Patil (Congress)

* Arjun Singh (Congress)

* Sis Ram Ola (Congress)

* P R Kyndiah (Congress)

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more