• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Congress wins 206 seats, BJP finishes with 116

By Super Admin
Google Oneindia News

New Delhi, May 17 (ANI): The United Progressive Alliance (UPA) has won 261 seats with the Congress winning in 206 in the 542 results officially declared on Sunday.

The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) on the other hand has won 159 seats with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) winning in 116.

Trinamool Congress (TC) has emerged as the largest ally with 19 seats followed by DMK with 18.

The UPA now a total strength of 261 and needs 11 more to touch the magic figure of 272 for a majority.

For NDA, the Janata Dal- United (JD-U) secured 20 seats, while Shiv Sena bagged 11 seats. Ajit Singh's RLD got five, Akali Dal-4, TRS-2 and AGP-1. The NDA has a total tally of 159.

According to the Election Commission of India, counting in two seats had to be stopped on Saturday as the electronic voting machines had developed snags. The two seats should be from Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh.

Third Front has won 80 seats, with the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPM) obtaining 16 seats, and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), 21 seats.

The Fourth Front has won 26 seats, with the Samajwadi Party (SP), 22 seats and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) led by four seats. Other small regional parties won 15 seats.

Of the remaining 17 seats, nine were won by independents followed by one each by 8 parties--All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen, Jharkhand Vikas Morcha, Bahujan Vikas Aaghadi, Sikkim Democratic Front, Nagaland Peoples' Front, Swabhimani Paksha, Bodoland Peoples' Front and Assam United Democratic Front. (ANI)

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X