• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Chidambaram loses in Sivaganga, seeks repoll

By Super Admin

Sivaganga, May 16 (ANI): Congress leader and Union Home Minister P. Chidambaram has lost the elections in Tamil Nadu's Sivaganga parliamentary constituency to his All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) rival Raja Kannappan.

According to sources, a repoll has been ordered in the constituency.

Meanwhile, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Shatrughan Sinha has won the Patna seat, beating his rival and television actor Shekhar Suman of Congress.

In Ghaziabad, BJP President Rajnath Singh has won, while Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) Chief Lalu Prasad has managed to win only the Saran seat.

Trinamool Congress (TMC) leader Mamta Banerjee has won the South Kolkata seat, beating her nearest rival Robin Deb of CPI-M.

Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) chief and Steel Minister Ram Vilas Paswan has lost against the Janata Dal-United's (JD-U) Ram Sundar Das in Bihar's Hajipur parliamentary constituency.

BJP leader Navjot Singh Sidhu has won the Amritsar seat, beating O. P. Soni of the Congress.

Samajwadi Party (SP) leader Jaya Prada has won the Rampur seat, while Congress leader Deepender Singh Hooda beat his nearest rival Nafe Singh Rathi of INLD by over four lakh votes in the Rohtak constituency. (ANI)

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more