2nd phase polling begins in 12 states on Apr 23

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Apr 23: Polling for the second phase of the Lok Sabha polls in 12 states started at 0700 hrs (IST) on Thursday, Apr 23. About 19.4 cr people will exercise their franchise in about 2,22,350 polling booths across India.

Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Goa, Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Orissa, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh and Jharkhand are the states which are going to polls on Thursday, Apr 23. The first phase of polling was held on Apr 16.

Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, elected to Rajya Sabha from Assam will cast his vote at a booth in Dispur under the Guwahati Lok Sabha constituency.

The phase which cover highest number of Lok Sabha constituencies will also decide the political future of Rahul Gandhi, the Congress party general secretary. Rahul is contesting from Amethi in Uttar Pradesh. The other key contesters in fray are Sharad Pawar of National Congress Party (NCP), Sushma Swaraj of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) president Ram Vilas Paswan, Chiranjeevi of Prajarajyam.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...