5-phase Lok Sabha polls from Apr 16: EC

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Mar 2: Election Commission of India on Monday, Mar 2 declared that the Lok Sabha Polls will commence from Apr 16 to May 13. The election will be held in 5 phases. Chief Election Commissioner N Gopalaswamy said that the new Lok Sabha will be constituted on Jun 2.

CEC said to media that India has 714 million voter base. 43 million new voters have been added this year. Out of the 543 Lok Sabha constitutencies 499 are redrawn. 8,28,804 polling booths across the country. About 11 lakh voting machines will be used in this general elections.

States like Jammu Kashmir and Uttar Pradesh will have 5-phase polls, while Bihar will have 4-phase elections. 3-phase elections in West Bengal and Maharashtra. Gopalaswamy said that states like Karnataka, Manipur, Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Orissa and Punjab will have 2-phase polls. Rest of the 15 states and 7 Union Territories will undergo single phase election.

124 consitutencies will go on polls on Apr 16. 141 constitutencies will go on Apr 23. EC further said that 107 constitutencies will vote on Apr 30, 84 on May 6 and 86 on May 13. The counting of votes will happen on May 16.

Gopalaswamy said that about 21 lakh police personnel will be deployed for the smooth conduct of the polls.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...