Raj elections:MPs contest polls to become MLAs

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Jaipur, Nov 18 (UNI) As many as six sitting members of the Lok Sabha and several former MPs are trying their luck in the ecember 4, Rajasthan assembly elections this time.

The ruling BJP in the state has fielded five MPs even as party's MP from Bharatpur Vishvendra Singh, scion of Bharatpur royal family, recently resigned to join the Congress.

BJP MP from Udaipur Kiran Maheshwari , former BJP National Mahila Morcha president and ex-Mayor of Udaipur, is contesting the Rajasmand seat while party's Chittorgarh MP Shri Chand Kriplani has filed nomination from the Chittorgarh assembly constituency.

Mr Kriplani was first allotted ticket from Bari Sadri but his constituency was changed to Chittorgarh in the last list of BJP nominees.

BJP has fielded its Ganganagar MP Nihal Chand Meghwal from Raisingh Nagar constituency (SC) and Kota MP Raghuvir Singh Kaushal from Anta seat.

Another BJP MP who is trying his luck in the assembly elections is Banswara MP Dhan Singh Rawat who has filed papers from Banswara assembly constituency.

Meanwhile, the lone sitting Congress MP who has joined the fray is Lok Sabha member from Alwar Karan SinghYadav. He is contesting the Behror assembly seat.


Please Wait while comments are loading...