BSP's Nitin Agarwal declared elected at Hardoi assembly seat

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Lucknow, Nov 18 (UNI) Nitin Agarwal of ruling Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has been elected to Uttar Pradesh Assembly from Hardoi constituency, which had gone to bypoll on November 15.

Mr Agarwal defeated his nearest rival Sukhsagar Mishra of Samajwadi Party (SP) by a margin of over 17,000 votes. BSP wrested the seat from SP as the leader's father and former UP minister Naresh Agarwal had earlier won the seat from SP ticket, UP Chief Electoral Officer Anuj Kumar Bishnoi told UNI.

In fact, the bypoll to this seat was necessiated as Naresh Agarwal, the then SP member in the state assembly, had resigned to join the BSP.

About 46 per cent of voters had exercised their franchise in the peaceful bypoll to this Assembly seat on November 15.

A total of 12 candidates were in the fray. The SP had fielded Sukhsagar Mishra, while the BJP had decided not to field any candidate.

After this win, the tally of BSP in UP assembly has risen to 212 in the House of 403.


Please Wait while comments are loading...