Sheila Dikshit files nomination on Nov 11

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Nov 11: The penultimate day of filing of nominations for the November 29 Delhi Assembly polls today saw several bigwigs on the political scene, including Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit and Delhi BJP chief Harshvardhan filing their papers.

Congress nominee from New Delhi assembly constituency Dikshit filed her nomination for the polls, calling upon the people of Delhi to the elect the party for a third consecutive term.

Speaking to mediapersons after filing her nomination papers at Jamnagar Election Office, Ms Dikshit, who was accompanied by her family members and DPCC president Jai Prakash Aggarwal, stated that to continue the process of overall development of the city, people should elect the Congress for the third time because ''our party has always stood for welfare of poor and downtrodden''.

Prominent among others, who filed their nomination papers today were Delhi Finance Minister A K Walia (Laxmi Nagar), Education Minister Arvinder Singh Lovely(Gandhi Nagar), Transport Minister Haroon Yusuf (Ballimaran), Speaker Prem Singh (Ambedkar Nagar) and sitting MLA Kiran Walia (Malviya Nagar).

BJP leaders who filed their nominations were --Dr Harshvardhan (Krishna Nagar), Praveen Khadelwal (Chandni Chowk) and Ram Bhaj (Malviya Nagar).

With tomorrow being the last date for filing of nominations, there was a huge rush for filing of papers.

A total of 306 nomination papers were filed from eight districts of the capital.

With today's nominations, a total of 499 nominations have been filed since the filing of paper began on November 4 with the issuance of notifications for the assembly polls.

The process of filing nominations was set off with issuance of notification for the polls on November 4.

As per the notification, November 11 has been fixed as the last date for filing of nominations, scrutiny of which will be done on November 12.

The last date for the withdrawal of candidatures is November 14.

Counting of votes will be done on December 8. The term of the present Legislative Assembly of Delhi is expiring on December 17.

Both the Opposition Bharatiya Janata Party and ruling Congress have declared names of candidates for all 70 assembly seats.


Please Wait while comments are loading...