NC releases list of 65 candidates for J

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Srinagar, Nov 6 (UNI) Jammu and Kashmir National Conference (NC) Patron and former Chief Minister Farooq Abdullah will contest from Hazratbal Assembly segment according to the list of 65 party candidates released today.

A spokesman of the NC said that the Parliamentary Party today selected the names of 65 candidates for third (5), fourth (15), fifth (10), sixth (15) and seventh (20) phases of polling.

Dr Farooq Abdullah will this time contest from Hazratbal constituency which was represented by NC candidate Mohammad Sayeed Akhoon in 2002 elections.

Mr Abdullah who was contesting from Ganderbal seat, represented by his father late Sheikh Mohammad Abdullah since 1977, fielded his son Omar Abdullah in 2002 elections. However, Mr Omar Abdullah was defeated by the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate Qazi Mohammad Afzal in 2002.

Mr Omar Abdullah will again try his luck from Ganderbal constituency in multi corner contest in the second phase.

The prominent leaders who have been selected by the NC parliamentary party include Chaudhary Mohammad Ramzan (Handwara), Sharief-ud-Din Shariq (Langate), Mohammad Shafi Uri ((Uri), Abdul Rahid Shaheen (Pattan), Abdul Rahim Rather (Chari Sharief), Sakina Itoo (Noorabad), Mehboob Beg (Anantnag), Ali Mohammad Sagar (Khanyar), Surjeet Singh Salathia (Vijaypur), Ajat Shatru Singh (Nagrota).


Please Wait while comments are loading...