BJP, BSP set to choose their candidatures for RS poll in UP

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Lucknow, Nov 4 (UNI) Politics over selection of candidates for the Rajya Sabha elections in Uttar Pradesh was heating up with BJP authorising its state president to discuss the name of the candidate with central leadership and the ruling BSP giving its final touch to its candidates.

On the other hand, no nomination were filed so far for the 10 seats biennial elections of the Rajya Sabha to be held on November 21. Today on the second day of the filing of nominations, only two forms were sought by a Kanpur resident Naresh Dikshit. Yesterday, 44 forms were taken by different political parties, including four independents.

The Samajwadi Party and the Congress were yet to meet on the issue so far.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leadership today met here to discuss the names of the candidates for the election and later state party president Rampati Ram Tripathi was authorised to select the name after consulting the central parlimantary board.

However, the names of Kusum Rai, Keshir Nath Tripathi, Lalji Tandon, Satya Deo Singh and Hridya Narain Dikshit were discussed as probable candidates for the one seat, in which BJP would be contesting.

BJP sources said the name of the candidate would be announced within a day or two.

Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) president and chief minister Mayawati also held a meeting of its legislators here to discuss the names of the probable candidates.

The probable names discussed in the BSP meeting for the candidates of the Rajya Sabha elections are Dharmveer Ashok, sitting member Veer Singh, Gaya Charan Dinkar and Dr O P Tripathi. Former Congress Rajya Sabha member and presently BSP general secretary Akhilesh Das' name has also been dragged in the media as the fifth candidate for the ruling party, but it has not been confirmed by the party.

Meanwhile, the SP is likely to repeat the candidature of Amar Singh and Abu Asim Azmi, but the decision on the third seat with the help of the Congress was not yet decided.

The last date for filing of the nominations is November 10, scrutiny, the next day and last date of withdrawal of names is November 14.

The Rajya Sabha members whose term were expiring on November 25 are: Rajnath Singh, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi (both of BJP), Amar Singh, Saahid Siddique, Abu Asim Azmi, Uday Pratap Singh(all SP), Esam Singh, Veer Singh, Gandhi Azad(all BSP) and Akhilesh Das(Congress).

However, seats of Esam Singh and Akhilesh Das fell vacant earlier.

The strength of the State Assembly is as follows: BSP-216, SP-94, BJP-51, Congress-21, RLD-10, Rastriya Swabhiman Party-1, Independents-8 and Nominated-1.


Please Wait while comments are loading...