Campaign for first phase begins in C'garh

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Raipur, Nov 1 (UNI) Campaigning for 39 of the total 90 Assembly seats, going to the poll in the first phase of Assembly elections in Chhattisgarh, began today.

A total of 383 candidates, including Chief Minister Raman Singh and Leader of the Opposition Mahendra Karma, are in the fray for these seats in 10 districts.

Dr Singh will contest from Rajnandgaon seat, while Mr Karma will contest from Dantewara.

Prominent, among others whose fate will be decided, were Vidhan Sabha Speaker Prem Prakash Pandey, Panchayat and Rural Development Minister Ajay Chandrakar, Water Resources Minister Hemchandra Yadav and BJP secretary Saroj Pandey.

Although the Chief Minister began his campaign after scrutiny of nomination papers, candidates at most places began their campaign today.

The ruling BJP and the main opposition Congress had fielded candidates from all 39 seats, while several candidates from parties like the BSP, the SP, the CPI and the CPI-M are also in the fray for the November 14 polls.


Please Wait while comments are loading...