All sitting MLAs renominated in BJP's list of 53 candidates

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Nov 1 (UNI) The Bharatiya Janata party today renominated all its 19 sitting MLAs of the party in the 70-member Delhi Legislative Assembly while fielding Mr Vijay Jolly from New Delhi, the seat presently held by Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit.

Figuring in the list of 53 candidates for the November 29 Delhi Assembly polls, released by party general secretary Arun Jaitley after a meeting of the party's Central Election Committee are BJP's chief Ministerial candidate Vijay Kumar Malhotra from the Greater Kailash seat, Delhi BJP Chief Harshvardhan from Krishna Nagar, Leader of the Opposition in the State Assembly Jagdish Mukhi from Janak Puri, BJP vice-president Anita Arya from Patel Nagar and Saheb Singh Chauhan from Ghonda.

Also included in the list are names of former Minister Harsharan Singh Balli from Hari Nagar.

The list includes names of two women. Besides Ms Anita Arya, the party has fielded Ms Kalpana Jain from the Gandhi Nagar seat.

At the meeting, chaired by party president Rajnath Singh and attended by senior party leader L K Advani, it was also decided to earmark four seats for the Akali Dal.

The four seats from where the BJP will have seat sharing with the Akali Dal are Jangpura, Shahadara, Adarsh Nagar and Rajouri Garden.

The 13 seats for which candidates are yet to be finalised are Chandni Chowk, Matia Mahal, Matiala, Vikaspuri, Laxminagar, Seelampur, Mustafabad, Burari, Nangloi Jat, Sadar Bazar, Patparganj, Najafgarh and Trilokpuri.

Mr Jaitley said the party had decided to renominate all the 19 sitting MLAs of the party in the 70-member House.

Also, in keeping with its earlier decision, the party has decided not to give ticket to any councillor.

He said the Central Election Committee would be finalising the names of the 13 remaining seats in the next couple of days.

''The candidates for the 13 seats will be decided based on their winnability and other criteria. Also, women would be given maximum representation in the seats,'' Mr Jaitley said.

The CEC will also be finalising later tonight the list of candidates for remaining seats of the Madhya Pradesh Assembly.

A list of 115 candidates for the MP Assembly was released by the party yesterday.


Please Wait while comments are loading...