Cong declares 117 candidates for MP polls

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bhopal, Oct 31 (UNI) The Congress took the lead over the Bharatiya Janata Party in announcing its first list of 117 candidates for the single-phase Madhya Pradesh assembly elections for which filing of nomination papers got underway today and polling is scheduled on November 27.

Assembly Deputy Speaker Hazarilal Raghuwanshi, Leader of the Opposition Jamuna Devi, former speaker Sriniwas Tiwari, former MPCC chief Subhash Yadav, Youth Congress state president Jitu Patwari, and Union Minister Arjun Singh's son Ajay Singh figured in the list announced by Central Election Committee in-charge Oscar Fernandes in New Delhi.

Bhopal Mayor Sunil Sood, his predecessor Vibha Patel, state Congress bigwig Harivansh Singh and local MLA Arif Aqeel also figured in the list.

The 231-member Vidhan Sabha includes a nominated member from the Anglo-Indian community.

(Eds: Pl pick up from para one of DR 58 Election-MP-Congress-List Two Bhopal) UNI SP AC SP AS1957

Please Wait while comments are loading...