Polling booth at 10,000 ft above sea level

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Srinagar, Oct 22: For only ten voters, a polling booth will be set up at an altitude of above ten thousand feet in the Nobra Assembly segment, going to polls along with nine other constituencies in the Jammu and Kashmir in the first phase on November 17, an official spokesperson said here on Monday, Oct 22.

Anlay Fu polling station in Leh Assembly segment is the highest polling station situated at an altitude of 15,000 feet above sea level while polling station Sunudo, in Nobra Assembly segment, would be the smallest polling station having 10 voters only. Since the setting up of polling station was an important prerequisite to enable voters to exercise their franchise, the election authorities have decided to set up 8109 booths across the state for the convenience of the electors, the spokesperson said.

The maximum number of 999 polling booths would be established in Jammu district while the newly-carved out Ganderbal district would have the lowest number of 142 polling stations.

As far as the constituency with the maximum polling stations is concerned, Leh with 183 stations tops the list while as Gurez had the lowest number of 25 polling booths.

As many as 603 polling stations would be situated at an altitude of 8,001 to 13,000 feet with the maximum of 183 located in Leh constituency, followed by 158 in Kargil constituency.

He said 196 polling stations would fall in the altitude of 7,001 to 8,000 feet with Poonch Haveli constituency having the highest number of 32 polling stations followed by 25 in Kokernag constituency.

Shopian constituency in south Kashmir would have maximum of 89 polling stations and Wachi constituency would have 84 polling stations at height of 6,001 to 7,000 feet.

The district wise break-up of polling stations in Kashmir Division includes 448 in Kupwara, 707 in Baramulla, 237 in Bandipora, 142 in Ganderbal, 682 in Srinagar, 429 in Budgam, 373 in Pulwama, 175 in Shopian, 282 in Kulgam, 427 in Anantnag, 239 in Leh and 237 in Kargil.

In the Jammu Division, Jammu district leads with 999 polling stations followed by Kathua which will have 541 polling stations.


Please Wait while comments are loading...