Bureau of Asia Pacific Min Conf on Housing

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Oct 14 (UNI) Countries of the Asia Pacific Region, under aegis of Asia Pacific Ministerial Conference on Housing and Urban Development (APMCHUD), would present a unified vision and approach to address challenges of sustainable urbanisation in the World Urban Forum scheduled to be held in the fourth meeting from November three to six.

This was among the major decisions taken during the second meeting of the APMCHUD held here today at New Delhi.

Chaired by Minister for Housing and Urban Development at the Islamic Republic of Iran, Mohammad Saeedi Kia, who is currently the Chairperson of the APMCHUD, said the meeting was held in the Permanent Secretariat of the APMCHUD in HUDCO Bhawan.

India was represented by Minister of State (i/c), Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation, Kumari Selja and Secretary (HUPA), Kiran Dhingra. Pakistan's delegation was headed by Federal Minister of Housing and Works, Rahmatullah Kakar.

Minister for Urban Development, Vardan Vardanyan headed the delegation from Armenia while the delegation from Indonesia was led by Special Deputy Minister of Ministry of People's Housing, Ramalis Subandi Prihandana apart from Chief Coordinator, APMCHUD Sunil Kumar Singh. The meeting was attended by the representative from UN-Habitat, Dr. Markandey Rai from Nairobi.

The APMCHUD was established in December, 2006, subsequent to the first Asia Pacific Conference held at New Delhi under the aegis of Union Ministry of Housing and Poverty Alleviation and UN-HABITAT.

Minister of State for Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation (Independent Charge) Kumari Selja was the first Chairperson of the APMCHUD till May 2008.

The second conference of APMCHUD was held in Teheran in May, 2008 consequent to which the Housing and Urban Development Minister from Iran, Mohammad Saeedi Kia, has taken over as the Chairperson of APMCHUD. The Bureau of APMCHUD is represented by Ministers from various sub-regions of Asia Pacific countries. The current Bureau consists of Minister of Housing and Urban Development from Iran, India, China, Indonesia, Armenia, Pakistan and Qatar. The activities of APMCHUD are coordinated by the Secretariat of APMCHUD, which is established at HUDCO Bhawan, India Habitat Centre, New Delhi.


Please Wait while comments are loading...