Political parties organise peace rally in Kandhamal

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bhubaneswar, Oct 11 (UNI) Leaders of five opposition political parties held peace marches during the last two days in a bid to restore peace and harmony in the strife-torn Kandhamal district.

A delegation of the political parties of CPI, CPM, Samrudha Orissa, Forward Block, SUCI and NCP was flagged off by NCP state President Bijay Mohapatra here yesterday.

Congress, the major opposition party, however, did not participate and backed out at the last moment.

Kandhamal witnessed communal violence following the murder of VHP leader Laxmanananda Saraswati and four of his disciples in August.

Samrudhan Orissa leader and former Orissa finance minister Panchanan Kanungo said the political activists organised a peace march at Phulbani yesterday and at Nuagaon, Raikia,G Udaygiri, Tikabali and Baliguda areas today.

The delegation, he said, visited the relief camps and interacted with the local people.

Mr Kanungo said the people in the district were living in fear and tension still prevailed in the area.

Among others SUCI leader Sambhunath Naik, Samdrudha Orissa President J N Mohanty and left party leaders Shivaji Patnaik, Dibakar Naik, Santosh Das, Janardan Pati and Narayan Reddy participated in the peace march.


Please Wait while comments are loading...