Ruling BJD-BJP captures 67 ULBs in Orissa

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bhubaneswar, Sep 30 (UNI) Ruling Biju Janata Dal(BJD) and the BJP today captured the chairpersons post of 67 of the total 91 Urban local bodies in Orissa.

The Congress won 15 urban local bodies, while the Independents managed to hold eight urban bodies and the Samajwadi Party captured the Jajpur Municipality.

In Ganjam district, the BJD dominated the ULBs when its candidates were elected to the chairperson posts in 15 bodies, while the rest three were taken away by the Congress.

In the tribal-dominated Mayurbhanj, the BJP captured all the three local bodies, while the BJD bagged all the three ULBs in Gajapati district.

The Independents for the first time managed to hold Athmallick, Titlagarh, Balasore, Chowdar, Dhenkanal, Aska, Nimapada and Tarava ULBs with the support of BJD and BJP members.

Elections to 91 ULBs were held on September 19 last.

UNI DP SJC/src AB VC2245

Please Wait while comments are loading...