Air India retain men's team championship

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chandigarh, Sep 26 (UNI) Air India kept their flag flying high to retain their men's team championship after prevailing over a never-say-die Oil India Limited by 3-2 in a keenly contested final of the All-India Public Sector Table Tennis Tournament being organised by Airport Authority of India at the Sector 23 Table Tennis Hall here late last night.

After a 2-all score, Pathik Mehta who is ranked eighth in India, prevailed over Devesh Karia, whose ranking in India is 15, by 11-7, 8-11, 9-11, 11-8, 11-8 in the final singles match of the team championship.

Tenth ranked Sanil Shetty gave Air India a winning start as he rallied to beat Devesh Karia 8-11, 11-6, 11-1, 5-11, 14-12. OIL immediately hit back as Subhajit Saha, ranked second in India, defeated Pathik Mehta 11-8, 11-9, 11-9.

Air India again forged ahead as Aniket Koparkar outpointed Anal Kashyap 11-9, 13-15, 10-12, 11-4, 11-4. This game turned out to be the best in the final. Subhajit Saha again came to the rescue of OIL as he defeated Sanil Shetty 3-11, 11-6, 8-11, 9-11. With this both teams were tied at 2-all. Then Pathik Metha rose to the occasion for Air India and helped Air India to retain the trophy. OIL, however, had the consolation of winning women's team championship by defeating Indial Oil Corporation by 3-0 in the final Results (final): Men's team championship: Air India bt Oil India Limited 3-2 (Sanil Shetty bt Devesh Karia 8-11, 11-6, 11-1, 5-11, 14-12, Pathik Mehta lost to Subhajit Saha 8-11, 9-11, 9-11, Aniket Koparkar bt Anal Kashyap 11-9, 13-15, 10-12, 11-4, 11-5, Sanil Shetty lost to Subhajit Saha 11-3, 6-11, 8-11, 9-11, Pathik Mehta bt Devesh Karia 11-7, 8-11, 9-11, 11-8, 11-8).

Women team championship (final): OIL bt IOC 3-0 (Mouma Das bt K Shamini 11-6, 13-11, 8-11, 11-8, Nandita Saha bt Kasturi Chakraborty 11-8, 11-7, 11-6, Pooja Sahasrabudhe bt AV Nivedita 11-9, 6-11, 11-2, 11-8).


Please Wait while comments are loading...