Congress reconstitues WB unit ahead of Lok Sabha polls

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Aug 28 (UNI) The Congress today reconstituted its West Bengal unit, set up an election committee and appointed 11 district presidents in an attempt to galvanise the party ahead of Lok Sabha polls.

Heavy weight Pranab Mukherjee, who tops the 12-member election committee, has also been made a permanent invitee in the state executive, party general secretary (organisation) Janardan Dwivedi announced here, saying the reorganisation of the party has been approved by president Sonia Gandhi.

Mr Subarta Mukherjee and Mr Pradeep Bhattacharya have been appointed working presidents to assist party chief P R Dasmunshi.

The party has appointed 10 vice presidents, 11 general secretaries,20 secretaries and 42 as members of the state executive.

Fifteen permanent invitees to the executive also include heads of the party's frontal organisations like the Youth Congress, Chhatra Parishad, Seva Dal and Mahila Congress. Heads of the frontal organisations have also been invitees to the 12-member election committee, the party statement said.

The eleven district presidents are Biren Kundu(Coochbehar), A H Khan Chowdhury(Malda),Dr Susovan Banerjee(Birbhum),Krishna Chanda(Howrah),Pranab Basu(North Kolkata),Pradeep Ghosh(Central Kolkata),Mainul Haque Chowdhury(South 24-Paraganas), Debi Ghoshal(North 24-Paraganas), Gopal Mondal(Burdwan Industrial), Dilip Nath(Hooghly) and Santosh Pathak(Burrabazar).


Please Wait while comments are loading...