CLP refutes Naidu's charges against CM

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hyderabad, Jul 2 (UNI) The Andhra Pradesh Congress Legislature Party (CLP) today refuted the charge of opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP) President N Chandrababu Naidu that Chief Minister Y S Rajasekhara Reddy had received 'commissions' worth crores of rupees in a liquor deals.

Addressing a press conference here, party spokespersons Paladu Venkata Rao and N Tulasi Reddy alleged that Mr Naidu and his party leaders were making ''baseless'' allegations against the State Government and the Chief Minister out of frustration as prominent TDP leaders were leaving the party.

Mr Rao alleged that Mr Naidu, who became the Chief Minister following a conspiracy, was involved in several corrupt practices during his tenure and looted the State, using the liberalisation policy.

''Mr Naidu is not thinking about the welfare of the State and the people and his main agenda is to criticise the State Government and the Chief Minister. Mr Naidu has no political maturity and he has downgraded himself in the eyes of the people with his baseless statements,'' he alleged.

While refuting the charge of Mr Naidu, Mr Reddy said instead of appreciating the State Government and the Chief Minister for taking up several welfare schemes during the last four years, Mr Naidu was making irresponsible statements against the Government with a political motive.

He said the State Government had taken several measures to reduce corruption in the state and has strengthened the Anti-Corruption Bureau and Vigilance Enforcement departments and conducted several raids on corrupt people.

Stating that while mr. Reddy has ordered inquiry commissions on all the allegations levelled by the Opposition parties to prove Government's transparency, the former Chief Minister had obtained stay orders from courts on all the inquiry commissions on allegations against him when he was the Chief Minister Mr. Tulasi Redy said.

He said the people would not believe in Mr Naidu's statements and other party leaders.


Please Wait while comments are loading...