Kerala, Chandigarh, Punjab men and women win in super league

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chandigarh, Jun 28 (UNI) Kerala, hosts Chandigarh and defending champions Punjab scored victories in the men as well as women's super league matches on the second successive rain-ruined day of the 30th Senior National Softball Championship at Panjab University Campus here today.

Formidable Kerala men outplayed Manipur by 8-2 in the super league fixture. Rashiq made two home runs for Kerala.

Chandigarh carved a well-merited 5-3 verdict against Jammu and Kashmir in another men's super league match. Sunder, Ravinder, Rahul, Vishal and Harish completed a home run each as Chandigarh emerged winners. Aman was the star player of Jammu and Kashmir as he scored a brace.

Holders Punjab registered a 4-1 triumph against Madhya Pradesh in yet another men's super league encounter. Deepak, Vishal, Jagjit and Gurpreet scored one home run each for Punjab. Madhya Pradesh's lone home run was scored by Amit.

Hosts Chandigarh women played an inspiring game as they outclassed Jammu and Kashmir by 11-0. Playing as a unit, Chandigarh women dominated in all five innings. Sangeeta, Gurmeet and Sunita contributed two home runs each.

Maintaining their winning spree, defending champions Punjab did not allow any liberty to Chattisgarh whom they trounced by 10-0.

Kerala women prevailed over Maharashtra by 8-5.

Results: Women: Super League: Chandigarh (Sangeeta, Gurpreet, Sunita 2 each, Sonia, Jyoti, Vandana 1 each) bt Jammu and Kashmir by 11-0. Madhya Pradesh (Seema, Apeksha, Vidhi 2 each, Priyanka, Rooma, Padika 1 each) bt Himachal Pradesh by 10-0. Punjab (Manjit, Sukhwinder, Navjot, Veerpal, Arshi, Loveneet and Sukhjit 1 each) bt Chattisgarh by 10-0. Kerala (Somiya, Dhaniya 2 each, Ramaiha, Gyarti, Anuradha, Daisa, 1 each) bt Maharashtra (Deepali, Swarna, Neelam, Soukia, Preeti 1 each) by 8-5.

Pre-quarter-finals: Himachal Pradesh (Preeti, Sumitra 2 home runs each, Nitesh, Kiran, Ranjana, Pooja, Sonika, Karuna 1 each) bt Andhra Pradesh 12-0.

Men: Super League: Chandigarh (Sunder, Ravinder, Rahul, Vishal, Harish 1 each) bt Jammu and Kashmir (Aman 2) by 5-3. Punjab (Deepak, Vishal, Jagjit, Gurpreet 1 each) bt Madhya Pradesh (Amit 1) by 4-1.

Kerala (Rashiq 2, Nitin, Rashiq Jr, Kevin, Sumir 1 each) bt Manipur by 8-2.

Pre-quarter-finals: Andhra Pradesh (Srikant 3, Karunkar, Vinod, Narinder, Sunteng, Deepak and Vinay) bt Himachal Pradesh 9-1.


Please Wait while comments are loading...