BJP bags three of five seats in Council elections

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Jun 28 (UNI) Ruling BJP has bagged three of the five seats declared so far and led in another in the biennial elections to the Karnataka Legislative Council for which counting was taken up today.

The BJP victorious candidates included Mohan Limbikai, Shashil G Namoshi and Kota Srinivas Poojary.

The the other two constituencies for which results were awaited, Puttanna of JDS was in leading in Bangalore Teacher's constituency while Dr Shivayogi Swamy had secured a winning lead from South East Graduates constituency.

Mr Limbikai defeated Congress heavy weight H K Patil, the former leader of opposition in the Council, from West Graduates Constituency.

Mr Namoshi won from North East Teachers constituency defeating Annaraya Ajagonda of Congress, while Mr Poojary defeated his nearest rival Nityanand Mondodi of Congress from Local body constituency.

Mr Patil lost by nearly 4000 votes to his BJP rival.

Mr Namoshi, who won for the third time, was polled 10,533 votes while his rival and Congress candidate got just 1326 votes, while Mr Poorjay bagged 3110 votes over his rival Mundodi who polled 2817 votes.


Please Wait while comments are loading...