BJP selects TPS Rawat for Pauri Lok Sabha seat

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Dehra Dun, Jun 26 (UNI) The BJP has decided to field sitting MP T P S Rawat from the Pauri Lok Sabha seat for the coming general elections.

Mr Rawat's name was finalised by a consensus at a meeting of the State Election Steering Committee held here yesterday.

His nomination dispelled rumours that Chief Minister B C Khanduri was set to move back to the Centre.

Incidentally, Mr Khanduri had vacated the Pauri Lok Sabha seat last year after becoming the Chief Minister of the state and had played a pivotal role in bringing Mr Rawat into the BJP fold.

The BJP was yet to finalise candidates for the five Lok Sabha seats. As of now, twelve names have come up for the Nainital seat, seven each for Haridwar and Almora and eight names for Tehri.


Please Wait while comments are loading...