JD(S) to support Cong candidate in RS polls

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Jun 16 (UNI) After fighting a bitter battle in the just concluded Karnataka Assembly elections, the Congress and Janata Dal (Secular) have clinched an election understanding for the June 26 biennial elections to four seats of the Rajya Sabha and seven seats to the Legislative Council from the State Assembly here today.

JD(S), which had 28 members in the Karnataka Assembly, had agreed to support two Congress candidates -- S M Krishna and Anil Lad -- for the Rajya Sabha elections.

The Congress, which had 80 members in the 224-member Karnataka Assembly, could win a seat without any hitch. However, it fell short of 13 votes to get its second candidate elected to the Upper House of Parliament. The party succeeded in clinching an electoral alliance with the JD(S) after the party high command permitted AICC General Secretary Prithviraj Chavan to hold talks with the JD(S) to seek its support in the RS elections.

Congress nominees, former Chief Minister S M Krishna and Anil Lad, who came with a large number of supporters, filed their nominations before the returning officer in Vidhana Soudha today, the last date for filing of nominations.

While Mr Krishna had returned to State politics after submitting his resignation as Maharashtra Governor prior to the Karnataka Assembly elections, Anil Lad, a new entrant, unsuccessfully fought as a Congress candidate from the Bellary city Assembly seat in the just-concluded Assembly elections.

This would be the second stint for the former Maharashtra Governor in the Rajya Sabha.

The ruling BJP, which had a comfortable majority to get two Rajya Sabha seats, had nominated former Chief Justice of Haryana and Punjab Rama Jois and educationist Prabhakar Kore.

Scrutiny of nominations would take place tomorrow and the last day for withdrawal of papers was June 19.

The BJP, which had enough strength to get elected four of its members to the Council, had named Home Minister V S Acharya, A Siddaraju, N Shankarappa and Bharati Shetty. Former Union Minister M V Rajasekharan filed his papers as the Congress candidate, while M C Nanaiah and A V Narayana Swamy would be the JD(S) candidates.


Please Wait while comments are loading...