BJP wins vote of confidence in K'taka

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Jun 6 (UNI) The first-ever BJP Government in Karnataka, headed by Mr B S Yeddyurappa, today won the confidence motion by voice vote in the Legislative Assembly amid a walkout by the Opposition Congress members.

After a three-hour-long discussion on the one-line motion and the reply by Mr Yeddyurappa, Speaker Jagdish Shettar announced that the BJP Government won the motion after putting it to voice vote.

The Congress members, however, staged a walkout, alleging that the Government was ''anti-farmer''.

In his reply, the Chief Minister clarified that his Government was pro-farmer and would strive for the welfare of the oppressed sections of the society. Keeping this in view, he had given due representation in the Cabinet to the backward classes and minorities.

He declared that he would not indulge in ''vindictive politics'' which would lead to conflict during his tenure, but work honestly for the welfare of the people.


Please Wait while comments are loading...