The new BJP Government to be sworn in tomorrow or on May 30

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, May 27 (UNI) The New B S Yeddyurappa led BJP government in Karnataka will be sworn in tomorrow or on May 30.

Mr Yeddyurappa today indicated that the party had to wait for the revocation of the President's rule in the State and the notification of the 13th Karnataka Assembly. President Pratiba Patil had recently approved extension of the Presidential rule for a further period of six months and the same had to be revoked.

Mr Yeddyurappa who met Governor Rameshwar Thakur last night along with senior leaders Arun Jaitley and Venkaiah Naidu staked claim to form the new government with a majority of 115 in the 224 member house, including five independent members who had extended support to the party. The five independents were also paraded before the Governor.

He said that the party had initiated dicussions on ministry formation and the new ministers would be picked up in consultation with the central leaders.

Meanwhile the newly elected legislators of the Janata Dal(S), which performed dismally at the hustings securing only 28 seats as against 58 it won in 2004, began its meeting to review the poll outcome and also to elect a new leader.

The Congress, which finished second with 80 seats, would hold the meeting of the new legislators here tomorrow to elect the new leader. Party State Incharge Pritviraj Chauhan was expected to be in the city today.


Please Wait while comments are loading...