Haryana Urdu Akademi to give annual awards on May 28

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chandigarh, May 23 (UNI) The Haryana Urdu Akademi will hold its annual award function on May 28 at Haryana Niwas, Chandigarh.

An official spokesman said the function would be inaugurated by Haryana Governor A R Kidwai and it would be chaired by the Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda.

He said Education Minister Mange Ram Gupta would be the Guest of Honour. Mr. Rajan Gupta, Commissioner Education and Languages, Haryana would welcome the guests and Mr Shiv Raman Gaur, Higher Education Commissioner, Haryana will propose the vote of thanks.

The awardees would include Hakim Ajmal Khan from Mewat who would get the prestigious Hali Award with a cash amount of Rs one lakh, a shawl, a memento and a citation.

Kanwar Mohinder Singh Bedi Socio-Culture Award, which carries a cash amount of Rs 25,000 would be conferred on Mr Rifat Sarosh Dr Sajida Zaidi would get Sabir Dutt Award for her contribution towards the uplift of women. This award carries a cash amount of Rs 25,000.

The S M H Burney Award for contribution in poetry would be conferred on Prof Satya Parkash Sharma Tafta Zari. It carries a cash amount of Rs 21, 000.

The Khawaja Ahmad Abbas Award for Urdu prose would be given to Dr Desh Raj Sapra. This award also carries a cash amount of Rs 21, 000.

Ms Shafia Shad will get the Munshi Gumani Lal Award for Urdu Fiction. It carries a cash amount of Rs 11, 000.

Dr Savita Malhotra will be given Surinder Pandit Soz Award for her distinguished contribution for the promotion of Urdu literature.

Award for senior citizens for their contribution to Urdu literature would be given to Mr Kundan Aravli and Mr Azad Sonipati.


Please Wait while comments are loading...