Cong bows to pressure; effects changes in candidates list

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Apr 28 (UNI) Rattled by the unprecedented opposition and rebellion within the party over the selection of candidates for next month's Assembly elections in Karnataka, the Congress high command has effected three changes in its original list of candidates.

According to party sources, ''bowing to pressure'', the Congress had replaced Mr Thippeswamy with member of the dissolved Assembly H Anjaneya, who had joined the Congress along with JD(S) rebel leader M P Prakash recently, as the official candidate for Holalkere (SC) seat.

Mr Nagesh would contest the Kample (ST) seat, replacing woman candidate Sanna Hanumakka while Dr Y Ramappa would contest from Mayakonda, replacing former Minister K Shivamurthy.

After the announcement of the list of candidates for the three phased Assembly elections, a large number of partymen thronged the District Congress Committee offices and condemned the party's action of ''sidelining the loyal workers by giving prominence to those who have joined the party recently,'' the sources said.

The Congress had, meanwhile, named local leader Navilesh as the party nominee to take on BJP's Chief Ministerial candidate B S Yeddyurappa, seeking re-election for the sixth time from Shikaripura Assembly seat.

Samajwadi Party State President and former Karnataka Chief Minister S Bangarappa also filed his nomination papers to contest from Shikaripura today.


Please Wait while comments are loading...