Bangarappa and H K Patil among the 330 who filed their nominations

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Apr 28 (UNI) Congress leaders H K Patil, R V Deshpande and Samajawadi Party (SP) Karnataka President S Bangarappa were among the 330 candidates who filed their nominations today for the second and third phase Karnataka assembly elections scheduled to be held on May 16 and 22 respectively.

Mr Bangarappa (Shikaripur) and Congress leader R V Deshapande (Haliyal) were among those 249 candidates who filed their nominations on the pen-ultimate day for filing nominations for the second phase poll.

According to official sources as many as 22 candidates filed their papers from Raichur district followed by Koppal (20), Chitradurga (13), Davanagere (49), Uttarakannada (14), Shimoga (32), Udupi (13), Chickmagalur (23), Bellary (40) and Dakshinakannada (23) for the second phase May 16 elections.

With this the total number of candidates who have filed their nomination rose to 540, for the 66 Assembly seats in Phase II elections.

The last date for filing of nominations was April 29 and scrutiny would be taken up the next day. The last date for withdrawal of nominations would be May two.

Raichur, Koppal, Uttara Kannada, Bellary, Chitradurga, Davanagere, Shimoga, Udupi, Chickmagalur and Dakshina Kannada districts would come under the second phase of elections.

Meanwhile, as many as 71 nominations, including that of Mr H K Patil (Gadag), Hanumanthappa Alkod (JD-S), filed their nominations for the third phase elections scheduled for May 22 for 69 seats in Eight districts.

The last date for filing of nominations for Phase III polling was on May three and scrutiny would be done on May five as Sunday being holiday and last date for withdrawal of election will be May seven.

The third phase elections would be held on May 22.


Please Wait while comments are loading...