71 candidates file nominations for phase-II of K'taka polls

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Apr 26 (UNI) Congress leader and former Karnataka Deputy Chief Minister M P Prakash, Senior BJP leader Jagadish Shettar who were among those 71 candidates who filed their nomination papers for the second phase of elections to the State Assembly scheduled for May 16.

According to official sources, Mr M P Prakash filed his papers for Harapanahalli assembly seat in Davanagere district, while Jagadish Shettar filed for Hubli-Dharwad (Central) seat, With this the total number of candidates who have filed their nomination rose to 280 for the 66 assembly seats.

While 14 nominations were filed in Chitradurga district, 13 candidates entered the fray in Davanagere, 10 in Uttarakannada, 8 each from Raichur, Koppal and Chickmagalur district,7 in Chitradurga two in Shimoga and one in Dakshina Kannada district.

No nominations received in Udupi district today.

The last date for filing of nominations was April 29 and scrutiny would be taken up the next day. The last date for withdrawal of nominations would be May two.

Raichur, Koppal, Uttara Kannada, Bellary, Chitradurga, Davanagere, Shimoga, Udupi, Chickmagalur and Dakshina Kannada districts come under the second phase of elections.

Meanwhile as many as 7 nominations, all from independents were received for the third phase elections to 69 seats in eight districts of Northern Karnataka on the opening day of nomination which kickstarted with the issue of notification for poll today.

The last date for filing of nominations for the third poll was fixed on 3rd May and scrutiny will be done on 5th May and last date for withdrawal of election will be on 7th May. The elections will be held for third phase elections on May 22.


Please Wait while comments are loading...