380 candidates left in fray in 7 dists for phase I polls

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Apr 26 (UNI) Former Karnataka Chief Minister and JD(S) Leader H D Kumaraswamy, Senior Congress Leaders M H Ambarish, Sreenivas Prasad and S Sidharamaiah were among the 380 candidates who remained in the fray in seven districts that go to the polls to State Assembly on May ten, on the last day of the withdrawal of nominations today.

According to official sources, as many as 125 candidates, including Former Deputy Chief Minister S Sidharamaiah, were left in the fray after the withdrawal of 41 candidates, for 11 Assembly seats in Mysore District in the first phase.

In Ramanagar District, 47 candidates for four Assembly seats, including Mr Kumaraswamy and Congress candidate and daughter of Former Chief Minister Ramakrishna Hegde, Mamatha Nichani who were contesting for the Ramanagaram Assembly seat, remained in the fray after the withdrawal of 22 nominations today.

In Chamarajanagar, 40 candidates for four Assembly seats, including Former Union Minister Sreenivas Prasad and former minister Mahadev Prasad were left to contest even as 14 candidates withdrew.

Over 64 candidates, including Mr Ambarish, remained in the fray in Mandya for seven Assembly seats, after the withdrawal of 42 nominations.

In Hassan, 49 candidates, including Former Minister and JD(S) Leader H D Revanna, remained for contest in seven Assembly seats after the withdrawal of 18 candidates.

In Bangalore Rural, 39 candidates for four Assembly seats were left after the withdrawal of 14 candidates and in Kodagu, 16 candidates would contest two seats as three candidates withdrew.

Information about the 50 seats in Bangalore Urban, Chickballapur, Kolar and Tumkur Districts, which would also go to the polls on May ten, were yet to be received, the sources added.


Please Wait while comments are loading...