100 candidates file nominations for phase II of K'taka polls

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Apr 25 (UNI) Hundred candidates, including Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) sitting Lok Sabha member G Karunakara Reddy, today filed their nominations for the second phase of elections to the Karnataka Legislative Assembly, scheduled for May 16.

According to official sources, Mr Reddy, who filed his papers for the Harapanahalli Assembly seat in Davanagere district, was among the candidates who filed papers on the fourth day of filing of nominations.

While 21 nominations were filed in Chitradurga district, 12 candidates entered the fray in Uttara Kannada, 11 in Raichur, ten each in Bellary and Dakshina Kannada, nine each in Chickmagalur, Shimoga and Davanagere, five in Koppal and four nominations were received in Udupi district.

Since the opening of nominations on April 22, 219 nominations have been received for 66 Assembly seats in the second phase. The last date for filing of nominations was April 29 and scrutiny would be taken up the following day. The last date for withdrawal of nominations would be May two.

Raichur, Koppal, Uttara Kannada, Bellary, Chitradurga, Davanagere, Shimoga, Udupi, Chickmagalur and Dakshina Kannada districts come under the second phase of elections.

Notification for the third phase of elections for the remaining 69 Assembly seats in eight North Karnataka districts would be issued tomorrow.


Please Wait while comments are loading...