BJP announces candidates for byelections in HP, AP, Haryana

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Apr 24 (UNI) The BJP today announced the names of candidates for byelections to a Lok Sabha constituency in Himachal Pradesh and four Assembly seats in Andhra Pradesh and Haryana.

Dr Anurag Singh Thakur would be the party's nominee for the Lok Sabha byelections to Hamirpur constituency in Himachal Pradesh.

The BJP fielded Dr Laxman on the Musheerabad Assembly segment in Andhra Pradesh, while the party finalised the names of Ram Kumar Arya, Pradeep Sangwan and Swami Raghvanand for the bypoll in Haryana's Indri, Gohana and Admapur constituencies, respectively.

The names were finalised by the BJP's central election committee under the presidentship of Rajnath Singh, a party press release said here.

The byelections would be held on May 22.

The Hamirpur parliamentary constituency had fallen vacant after the resignation of Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal in January.

Mr Dhumal was elected to the Lok Sabha in June 2007, but resigned after taking over as the Chief Minister.


Please Wait while comments are loading...