• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Ujjwala Modak and Ravindra Waikar elected to BMC committees

By Staff

Mumbai, Apr 2 (UNI) Ravindra Waikar of Shiv Sena managed to retain the chairmanship of the Standing Committee, and Ujjwala Modak of BJP was elected as the Chairman of the Education committee of Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC), here today.

Mr Waikar, who was the Standing Committee Chairman earlier, got 14 votes and defeated Hanumanta Nandapali of Congress, who received 11 votes.

The Education committee election was an expected one, with Ms Modak defeating Prescilla Kadam of Congress. Ms Modak got 14 votes, while Ms Kadam got 10 votes, with one MNS corporator remaining absent, one from the Samajwadi party boycotting the elections and one member remaining neutral.

Ms Modak, who has been elected for the first time said that the education department has much work to be done and she will see to it that the funds are utilised properly.

''The pension cases and the repairs of BMC owned schools will be treated on a priority basis,'' Ms Modak added.

Girl students in BMC schools will be given incentives for 100 per cent attendance, she said.

Mr Waikar said he will continue the work undertaken by the committee and will work towards the quick implementation of the same.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more