Prabha Thakur, Omprakash Mathur and Gyan Prakash elected to RS

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Jaipur, Mar 19 (UNI) All India Mahila Congress President Prabha Thakur, BJP Rajasthan unit President Omprakash Mathur and Gyan Prakash Pilania(BJP) were today declared elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan.

Ms Thakur, Mr Mathur and Mr Pilania were the only three contestants for March 26 Rajya Sabha polls being held on three seats from the state.

The formal announcement of their unopposed election was made by the Returning Officer and Rajasthan Assembly Secretary G L Chaudhary after expiry of deadline for withdrawals this afternoon.

Ms Thakur and Mr Pilania have been relected for their successive second term in the Upper House while Mr Mathur has been elected for his maiden term.

One seat has already been vacated by former External Affairs Minister K Natwar Singh while the present terms of Ms Thakur and Mr Pilania are due to expire next month.


Please Wait while comments are loading...