Raygada and Kalahandi ZPs to receive Panchayat raj awards

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bhubaneswar, Mar 4 (UNI) Rayagada and Kalahandi Zilla Parishads have been selected for the state level Panchayatraj incentive awards for their excellent performance during 2006-07.

Official sources here said while the Rayagada Zilla Parishad had been named from among the scheduled districts, the Kalahandi Zilla Parishad was chosen from among the non-scheduled districts.

The award carries a cash prize of Rs five lakh each.

Instituted by the Panchayatraj department, the annaul awards are being given since 2002-03 in the state, revenue division and district levels, to make the panchayat raj institutions more active and efficient.

Kosagumuda Panchayat Samiti of Nabarangpur district and the Tangi Panchayat Samiti of Khurda district were selected for the state level award.

At least six gram panchayats two from each division were also selected for the award. Chudapali Grampanchayat of Bolangir district and Kakudia Gram Panchayat of Angul district were the joint winners of Northern division.

While Kaneipur of Cuttack and Majhihara of Khurda district were selected for the award in Central division, Gobindapali of Malkangiri and M Rampur of Kalahandi district in Southern division were chosen for the award.

While the Panchayat Samities will get a cash award of Rs three lakh each the Gram Panchayats would get a sum of Rs 2 lakh each towards the award money.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik is scheduled to present the award at a function to be organised to mark the birth anniversary of former Chief Minister Biju Patnaik as the Panchayat Raj Diwas here tomorrow.

In addition to it RDC level prizes would be given to three Panchayats --Teleibani Panchayat Samiti of Deogarha in Northern Diovision, Begunia Panchayat Samiti in Khurda district in Central Division and M Rampur Panchayat Samiti in Southern Division in Rayagada district in Southern division.

At least 30 GPs would be presented district level prizes.

In total Rs 64 lakh prize money would be distributed to 43 panchayat raj institutions, the sources said.


Please Wait while comments are loading...