Nagaland: 13 lakh electorate to vote on March 5

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kohima, Feb 4: Altogether 13,00,507 voters of Nagaland will exercise their franchise in 1,781 polling stations in 11 districts throughout the state to elect 60 members for the Legislative Assembly on March 5.

State Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) C J Ponraj told UNI here yesterday that the electorate comprises 6,64,604 male and 6,35,903 female voters.

Of the 1,781 polling stations, Dimapur has the highest number of polling stations with 257, followed by Mon (202), Mokokchung (198), Kohima (189), Tuensang (169), Zunheboto (164), Phek (156), Wokha (149), Peren (108), Kiphire (90), Longleng (73) and Pughoboto (26).

The Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) has already instructed the state government to ensure the stopping of all pre-poll violence while the Centre has sanctioned 150 companies of additional security forces to the state against 75 companies in the 2003 Assembly elections.

The CEC has also asked all the district authorities to stop proxy voting, rigging and booth capturing throughout the state.


Please Wait while comments are loading...