Three BSP MPs disqualified from Lok Sabha

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Jan 29: Upholding the Bahujan Samaj Party's petition, Lok Sabha Speaker Somnath Chatterjee today disqualified three of its Lok Sabha members with immediate effect and declared that their seats had fallen vacant.

A decision to this effect, taken by Mr Chatterjee on January 27, was notified today, informed sources said. The disqualified MPs are Mr Ramakant Yadav, Mr Bhal Chandra Yadav and Mr Mohammad Shahid Akhlaq. BSP Parliamentary Party Leader Rajesh Verma had petitioned the Speaker in April 2007, alleging that the three MPs had actively participated in the public meetings of Samajwadi Party and were abusive of the BSP in the rallies held in 2006 end.

Taking cognisance of the complaint filed under the Anti-Defection Law, the matter was referred to the Privileges Committee, headed by Mr Kishore Chandra Deo. After the Committee submitted its report, the Speaker gave personal hearings to the complainant and the respondents before arriving at the decision, the sources said.


Please Wait while comments are loading...