Left front announces nomination for Assembly polls

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Agartala, Dec 26: A week prior to the publication of final electoral roll, Tripura Left Front has announced the names of its candidates, including five women, for the Assembly polls slated for February next year.

Announcing the party nomination here today, Left Front Convener and Lok Sabha member Khagen Das asserted that the party will retain power for the fourth consecutive time. He also informed that about 56,000 families supporting the Opposition congress and Indigenous Nationalist Party of Tripura (INPT) have joined the Front in past five years.

The party had also dropped four sitting MLAs, including state Food Minister Gopal Das from the contest on health ground. Unlike the previous elections, the party had nominated altogether five women for this election.

Meanwhile, the nomination has triggered reaction among the party supporters in North Tripura after Jayanta Chakraborty was nominated from the Muslim dominated Kailashahar constituency.

According to party sources, CPI(M) supporters in Kailashahar held protest rally against Mr Chakraborty as the ground level workers of the party were reportedly not happy with the selection.

On the other, hand the Forward Bloc has threatened to participate in the election alone if the Left Front did not give them at least three seats.

The front had allotted one only seat to Forward Bloc and two each for RSP and CPI.

Regarding stand-off with Forward Bloc, Mr Das said, ''We have already had two meetings with Forward Bloc to solve the impasse but could not make any headway and the door for discussion is still open and we hope the problem will soon be sorted.'' Election department officials said the final voter lists would be published on January 2 next and after the completion of the Himachal Pradesh poll process, the election date for Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland would be announced.


Please Wait while comments are loading...