Mrs Madhvi Awasthi crowned Gladrags Mrs India 2008

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, Dec 16: Mrs Madhvi Awasthi was crowned the new Gladrags Mrs India 2008 at the grand finale of the Bombay Dyeing Gladrags Mrs India Contest 2008 .

They were adjudged winners by Mrs Jimmy Nanda Bombay Dyeing Gladrags Mrs India 2007 along with Judge Mrs Maureen Wadia. Mrs Tanu Singh and Mrs Yukti Mehandiratta won the first and second runner up positions respectively at the conclusive round of the nation wide pageant at the Gladrags Career Academy here last night.

The judges of the contest were Mrs Maureen Wadia, National award winner Shabana Azmi, Bollywood star Mahima Choudhury, Malaika Arora Khan, John Abraham, Mehul Choksi, Mr S K Gupta, Dr Amardas Gupta and Director of Botox Rajiv Nagi. The evening was hosted by funny man Sajid Khan. The winners will represent India against 75 countries at Mrs Globe contest in Las Vegas, California and Mrs Universe in Bulgaria.

Speaking to the media, Mrs Wadia said, ''Seven years of Gladrags Mrs India has seen an evolution in the kind of participants coming forth. I believe that it is not about winning but about stepping out and participating which speaks volumes for the determination and vision that a married women hold for themselves today. I am extremely proud of all the 22 contestants because apart from being beautiful intelligent and sophisticated confident women they are all winners in their own right.'' The sub-award winners are ''Manasvi Vyas as Most Elegant, Best Model is Tajinder Sidhu, Most Vivacious is Yukti Mehandiratta, Most Photogenic Girl is Chetna Thakur, Mrs Exotic is Amita Motwani, Mrs Beautiful Face is Priya Avlani and Mrs Wellness is Tajinder Sidhu.

The final event tested contestant's confidence, grit style intelligence panache and their courage. The nation-wide pageant celebrates the diversities in roles played by married women. The Gladrags pageant 2008 saw participation of unique diversity of women from all walks of life some homemakers, others from professional backgrounds such as media, marketing, actors and businesswomen.

This year finalists hailed from places like Mumbai, Ahmedabad, Pune, Rajasthan, Lucknow, Kanpur, Delhi Chandigrah, Haryana, USA and UK.


Please Wait while comments are loading...