Punjab, Maharashtra, J and K, BSF to clash in semi-finals

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Jalandhar, Dec 14 (UNI) In a one-sided match, Punjab mauled Haryana by 8-0 and secured a place in semi-final, along with Maharashtra, Jammu and Kashmir and Border Security Force in the 56th All India Police Hockey championship being held at Olympian Surjit Hockey Stadium here today.

Stars studded Punjab Police rained goals in the quarter-final match, whereas Haryana failed to open an account in the match.

Kanwal Preet Singh converted three penalty corners in the 5th,37th and 58th minutes of the game, while Jagraj Singh converted two and Gagan Ajit Singh converted one in the 12th, 60th and 22nd minutes respectively. Amit Singh and Satwinder Singh fired one field goal each in the 8th and 10th minutes for Punjab.

In another quarter-final match, which was held between Maharashtra and Central Industrial Security Force (CISF), Maharashtra entered the semi-final by defeating CISF by a norrow marging of 2-1.

Amol Bhosle sounded the board with two field goals for Maharashtra in the 51st and 72nd minutes, while Paramvir posted the lone field goal for CISF in the 14th minute.

In the third quarter-final match, Jammu and Kashmir trounced Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) by a lone goal that was converted by Jolen Topno in the 64th minute.

In the last quarter-final match of the day, BSF drubbed Karnataka by 4-2. BSF was ahead in the first half as Sishil Kumar sounded the board with the first goal in the 18th minute, while Habil Topno fired field goal in the 19th minute. Prakash Kerketta converted the penalty corner in the 20th minute.

In the second half, Habil Topno again sounded the board with a field goal in the 41st minute while for Karnataka, Umesh Mutagar fired two field goals in the 52nd and 55th minutes.


Please Wait while comments are loading...