Uthappa, Pankaj, Ignus Tirky were among 104 honoured with Cash Prize

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Dec 13 (UNI) For the first time in the history of Karnataka Sports more than 104 sportspersons, including Cricketers Robin Uthappa, Team India Bowling Coach B K Venkatesh Prasad, former World Billiards and Snooker Champion Pankaj Advani, Ignus Tirky (Hockey) were honoured today by the State government.

These achieverts were recognised with cashr ewards for their achevement in the respective games. While Robin Uthappa, Venkatesh Prasad (for their stint in T20 World Cup won by India), Pankaj Advani (winner of World Billiards Title), V R Raghunath (Hockey) received Rs Five lakhs each, A L Vikram Kanth, Ignus Tirkey, S V Sunil were paid Rs Two Lakhs each for their role in India retaining the Asian Cup title at Chennai recently. Indian Hockey team Assistant Coach Ramesh Parameshwaran was given a cheque for Rs One Lakh.

L Jayanthi (Kabadi) was given a cheque for Rs One lakh for winning Gold in Second Asian Kabbadi Championship held recently in Iran. K N Deepashree (Judo), Chetan Appaiah (Badminton), Dhanaraj Madhav (Roller Sketting), Kavita Radhakrishnan (Athletics), Kavitha Radhakrishnan (Athletics), Mangala Gouri (Roller Sketting), Pooja Pai (Basketball), Raghunath Narayanaswamy (Power Lifting), Rajakiran Anumala (Swimming), Rajesh Somati (Volleyball), Ruksan Abhubakar (Basketball), Shalini Channappan (Basketball), Varun Shetty (Volleyball), Sharat M Gayakwad (Swimming) Farman Bashan (Power Lifting) were paid Rs 10,000 each.

Besides for the first time the State Department of Youth Services has honoured the winners of Dasara Sports Meet with cash prizes.

Director Genral of Police and Commondant General Home Guards Jija S Harisingh distributed the cheques. Speaking on the occassion she said that such prizes would be an incentive to the sportspersons to perform well in their future events and bring laurals to the State and country.

Presiding over the function brought up, Sports Authority of India (SAI), South Centre Director Shyamsunder said that introduction of cash prize for Dasara Meet winners would lead to attract athletes from other states to participate and Meet becoming a National event.

Earlier, Department of Yoouth Services and Sports Commissioner Amar Kumar Pandey, in his welcome address, said that the department has decided to recognise the performances of sports persons in the State every year and this was the first step in that direction.


Please Wait while comments are loading...