Congress declares names of candidates for Meghalaya Assembly polls

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Shillong, Dec 8 (UNI) The Meghalaya unit of the Congress has released the list of all 60 candidates contesting the Legislative Assembly elections, with Meghalaya Chief Minister D D Lapang seeking re-election from Nongpoh and Speaker Martin M Danggo from Langrin.

The Assembly polls in Meghalaya will be held in February, along with two other Northeastern states - Nagaland and Tripura.

Meghalaya Pradesh Congress Committee president O L Nongtdu said here today that the list was released late last night by the Congress high command.

Party tickets had been allotted to three women candidates, including state Health and Family Welfare Minister Deborah C Marak, sitting MLA Irin Lyngdoh and newcomer Sophibensinda Marak, contesting from Chokpot constituency.

Sitting Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) MLA from Tikrikilla constituency Monindra Rava and Nartiang constituency MLA Draision Kharshiing of Meghalaya Democratic Party were also allotted Congress tickets.

Meghalaya Deputy Chief Minister Mukul M Sangma and his younger brother Zenith M Sangma, a minister in the Congress-led Meghalaya Democratic Alliance government, had also been issued party tickets.

Chairman of the Tura Municipal Board Cyrus Tangseng D Shira will be pitted against former Lok Sabha Speaker and NCP MP Purno A Sangma from Tura constituency.

Former Chief Minister J D Rymbai, Khasi Hills Autonomous District Council, Chief Executive Member H S Shylla, former Jaintia Hills Autonomous District Council Edmund S Lyngdoh, Mahendraganj constituency MLA Nidhuram Hajong and Tura MLA Billy Kid Sangma were not in the Congress fray.

State Education Minister Robert G Lyngdoh had opted out this time. Consequently, the ticket had gone to Nicky F Lyngdoh. Mr Nicky's main opponent will be Ampareen Lyngdoh, sister of the Education Minister. Mr Shylla, who was denied a party ticket in preference to Union Minister P R Kyndiah's scion W K Kyndiah for Nongkrem constituency, said he would soon seek a clarification from his party's high command for denying him a party ticket.

Meanwhile, Meghalaya Chief Minister D D Lapang appealed to all Congress aspirants, who were denied party ticket, to continue to work for the interest of the party ahead of the Assembly elections.


Please Wait while comments are loading...