Mah govt will implement Sachar panel recommendations: Deshmukh

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Nagpur, Nov 26 (UNI) The state government will implement all recommendations of the Sachar Committee to create an atmosphere of equality in the state, Chief Minister Vilasrao Deshmukh told the Maharashtra Legislative Council today.

Replying to a discussion initiated by Fauzia Khan (NCP) and others under Rule 260, Mr Deshmukh said the Sachar Committee had made important recommendations for improving the status of Muslims in the country and these would be implemented in toto in Maharashtra. The state government would shortly create an independent department for the welfare of the minorities, he said.

Mr Deshmukh said the government would constitute a non-political study group, to be headed by a scholar, and will study the economic status of Muslims and to suggest ways of giving them representation in government services. The government would also ask the state Minorities Commission to point out the specific backwardness of Muslims so that reservation based onit could be given to members of the community, he also said.

The Central government had recently made a decision to give scholarships to Muslim students, Mr Deshmukh said. In this backdrop, the state government would introduce scholarships for Muslim students, the Chief Minister assured the House.

The government had decided to nominate a Muslim representative in the selection panel for Class I and Class II employees, he added.

Earlier, Nitin Gadkari (BJP) described the Sachar Committee report as part of the ruling party's vote bank politics. Madhukar Chavan (BJP) opposed the committee's report because it recommended reservations based on religion. Arvind Sawant (Shiv Sena) also opposed the report and said that reservations should be based on economic backwardness and not on religion.

Others who took part in the discussion were Sayyad Pasha Patel (BJP), Diwakar Raote (Shiv Sena), Zainuddin Jhaveri (Independent), Muzaffar Hussain (Congress), Girish Gandhi (NCP), Rajan Teli (Congress), Usha Darade (NCP), Madhukar Sarpotdar (Shiv Sena), Vinod Tawde (BJP), Dr N P Hirani (NCP) and others.


Please Wait while comments are loading...